A Review: The Roxy, London

I’ve decided to incorporate a little reviews section on this here blog, for all the non-fashion things that I am bursting with opinions about. You may find it helpful, you may not, but either way I must get some of these vents (good and bad) out, and would love to hear your opinions on these things too!

First up then, is The Roxy, a bar/club in Central London.

Now, if it’s a Saturday night, and you’re sporting your finest wincklepickers and most-vintage of all your bowler hats, and you’re looking to dance to, say, a bit of Death Cab…. DO NOT, I repeat, do not go to The Roxy (unless of course, your indie exterior is a show for all your scenester mates, and the first album on your ipod is Ultimate Cheese Party Volume 2) Because S Club 7, Chesney Hawkes and Queen are at the top of the DJ’s playlist for Saturday nights. My music snobbery is not the issue here though, if I’d have been prepared for scores of hens dancing to ‘The One and Only’ I’m sure I could’ve had a ball! The issue is plastered all over the internet are promises, some made by the venue itself, that The Roxy is an alternative club, pumping out fresh indie licks 24/7. I was so ready to re-enact some of the pictures from the Dickhead Song video, but instead I found myself doing the time warp…. again! Great for a funky, girly, cheeeeeesy night out, but just bare in mind, they are liars.

Leave a Reply

