Hermes: Un Jardin Sur Le Toit

Clockwise from top left Un Jardin En Mediteranee, Un Jardin Sur Le Nil, Un Jardin Apres La Mousson and Un Jardin Sur Le Toit
I’m a sucker for marketing and there’s nothing I love more than a cosmetic product with a theme. Hermes garden fragrance range has really captured my heart! I would say nose as well, though I haven’t actually sampled any of the range yet, but – hello? – fragrances that reference the Tunisian shoreline and the River Nile, I’m sold!

But let’s focus on the 4th and latest edition to its garden-inspired fragrance range, ‘Un Jardin Sur Le Toit’. Translating as ‘Garden on the Roof’, it refers to the roof garden at Hermes’ Parisian headquarters.

After having travelled to all these other exotic locations, Jean-Claude Ellena, chief perfumer in-house at Hermes, wanted to take inspiration from his home, Paris. To the Hermes roof garden he went, and so captivated by the aroma of herbs and fruits and the scent of the fresh green grass and compost was he, that Un Jardin Sur Le Toit was born.

Just when I thought it couldn’t get any more quaint, I’ve noticed that the perfume’s box features an illustration of Parisian rooftops, conceived by none other than Philip Dumas, Emile Hermes’s grandson. I can’t wait to sample this and let’s face it, probably buy it..

One response to “Hermes: Un Jardin Sur Le Toit

  1. I’m exactly the same! Such a sucker for good marketing campaigns and packaging design. I actually bought the Miss Dior Cherie Mini Coffret purely on the packaging and advertising I’d seen, before I smelt the perfume!

Leave a comment